OUR Aquariums

you will be blown away...

Buy a ticket

SPACES

The Musée Océanographique de Monaco has one of theoldest aquariums in the world!

Come and discover our aquariums which have been specially designed to recreate complex ecosystems, in which each species has a role to play.

From the Mediterranean to the Tropics, from sea turtles to fluorescent corals, explore the captivating underwater world of our Blue Planet!

Hey good looking

— The kingdom of the great predators

THE SHARK LAGOON

Beyond the barrier reef, an exceptional experience awaits you, face-to-face with several species of sharks. Watching these gracious creatures will quickly help you forget the film Jaws… In this huge 6-metre-deep aquarium, the 30-cm-thick walls will not distort the shapes or colours inside, and have been built to resist the pressure of the water!

Read more

Mediterranean Sea

— The splendor of our coastline

Mediterranean Sea

Come and discover the wonders of the Mediterranean Sea with this exhibition combining wonders and curiosities.

As you discover these aquariums, you will learn for example that some fish can change sex, that the octopus is a master illusionnist, that the dusky perch, the slipper lobster and the Pinna nobilis are protected species, or that our oldest inhabitant is over 60 yers old!

Read more

— A wealth of colours and shapes

TROPICAL SEAS

The coral reef is a place of exceptional colours and teeming with life. A multitude of species can be found there living together in perfect harmony, to protect themselves, eliminate parasites and feed.

The tropical zone of our aquarium will reveal to you the wonderful world of the reef and the species living there. The shapes and colours will take you on a journey!

Read more

— Flourescent colours are always fashionable...

FLOURESCENT CORALS

An overlooked living species dominates some seas, is the architect of the wonders to be found and protects the biodiversity of this silent world: coral.

They have surprising powers and some corals produce mysterious fluorescent lights, offering a fantastic polychrome show to the surrounding wildlife… We also have the honour of experiencing these wonderful lifeforms in this unique aquarium!

Read more

— Respect the species and their habitats

AQUARIUM ETHICS

In order to limit extractions from the natural environment and to understand better the biology of different species, the Museum Aquarium is investing in conservation and reproduction within its own walls.

Hundreds of fish among those shown at the aquarium were born and raised here: young seahorses, schools of clown-fish and young royal gramma or dogfish eggs all come from our nursery!

The Aquarium has an educational role to play, but it is also a precious tool in protecting endangered species. The Banggai Cardinalfish, a species from the Indonesian archipelago bearing the same name, is under threat from over-fishing, and is part of an international breeding program. This program could possibly help to save this species from extinction, with the participation of public aquariums from all over the world.

Read more

See also

NOS Aquariums

Acheter un billet

Le lagon aux requins

Point d’orgue de la visite, le Lagon aux requins vous transporte au large de la barrière de corail et vous offre un face à face d’exception avec des spécimens remarquables. Émerveillement garanti !

Dans cet aquarium géant de 6 mètres de profondeur contenant 450.000 litres d’eau de mer cohabitent des requins à pointes noires, un requin nourrice, une tortue imbriquée, des murènes ou encore une jeune raie guitare. Pour résister à la pression de l’eau, des vitres de 30 cm d’épaisseur ne trahissant ni les formes ni les couleurs ont été installées.

Mer méditerranée

La Méditerranée est une mer lumineuse et colorée, qui abrite à elle seule 7,5% de la faune et 18% de la flore marines mondiales. Venez découvrir ses splendeurs au travers d’une visite ludique et pédagogique, dans des aquariums entièrement repensés et modernisés. Une invitation au voyage !

Au détour de ces aquariums, vous apprendrez notamment que certains poissons changent de sexe au cours de leur vie, que le poulpe adopte instantanément les couleurs de son environnement par mimétisme ou que le mérou brun, la cigale de mer et la grande nacre font aujourd’hui partie des espèces protégées.

Mers tropicales

Le récif corallien est le théâtre d’une vie particulièrement colorée et foisonnante. Une multitude d’espèces s’y côtoient et s’associent pour se protéger, éliminer des parasites ou s’alimenter.

Articulée autour d’un grand bac qui reconstitue fidèlement un tel écosystème, la zone tropicale de notre aquarium vous dévoile l’enchantement mouvementé du récif et de ses habitants. Des formes et des couleurs qui font voyager !

 

BASSIN CORAIL FLUO

Une espèce animale, bien souvent oubliée parce que discrète et immuable, peuple les fonds marins, servant tout à la fois de décor élégant à ce monde du silence et d’habitat naturel aux microalgues : le corail.

Doté d’un pouvoir surprenant, le corail est à l’origine de phénomènes lumineux bien mystérieux… Une multitude d’espèces coralliennes ont la capacité de fluorescer et offrent ainsi un véritable spectacle polychrome à la faune qui les entoure !

UNE ÉTHIQUE DES AQUARIUMS

Pour limiter les prélèvements en milieu naturel et mieux connaître la biologie des différentes espèces, l’Aquarium du Musée s’investit dans des actions de conservation et de reproduction.

Des centaines de poissons, présentés dans nos bassins, sont nés et ont grandi dans nos réserves. Vous pourrez ainsi découvrir au cours de votre visite de jeunes hippocampes, des bancs de poissons clowns et de gramma royaux juvéniles ou encore des œufs de roussettes. Au travers de l’enveloppe des capsules, déposées par ces requins de Méditerranée, les plus observateurs devineront même les embryons à différents stades de développement.

Outre son rôle éducatif, l’Aquarium est également un précieux outil lorsqu’il s’agit de préserver une espèce en danger. Menacé par des pêches excessives, l’apogon des îles Banggaï, endémique de l’archipel indonésien du même nom, fait ainsi l’objet d’une reproduction dans le cadre d’un programme international. Une démarche qui, en associant des aquariums publics du monde entier, permettra peut-être de sauver cette espèce.

Voir aussi

Images_SW_illustration_(2)

L’Odyssée des tortues marines

08_Animation _bassin_tactile_20120719_M_Dagnino

Animations